Prince Paul

31 Mar

At SXSW, I met a publicist for Razor and Tie who just sent me the new Prince Paul CD, Politics of the Business. (That’s pretty cool of her, considering I’ll never be able to review it for work, although she did point out the one acoustic track–ha!) I listened to it yesterday on the way home from work, not paying too close attention, but it did remind me of De La Soul and the days when I liked rap. The lyrics are great, skewering different aspects of the music business, the scene, etc., and the music is good, but doesn’t take itself too seriously. Plus, Dave Chappelle is on some of the skits between songs. I haven’t finished listening to it yet, but it could be a keeper.

On All Things Considered the other day, they reviewed a CD by Franz Ferdinand. It sounds pretty cool–like the Strokes only not pretentious.

Leave a Reply

