One More Time, With Feeling

15 Apr

I’m starting to work on Nakiska again, but this time, I’m actually doing a gauge swatch first, which I never do. It never occurred to me that there could be a psychological benefit to making a swatch in addition to the technical side of it. Working on this, in a simple, confidence-boosting stockinette stitch, is helping me become comfortable with the yarn and needles. I’m hoping that when I start working on the real piece, that gradually increasing feeling of comfort in my fingers will translate.

Knitting the swatch is also helping me remember how much I love the color and the feel of the yarn and helping me look forward to wearing it for spring skiing 2005. I think I might be turning my bad Nakiska luck around.

2 Responses to “One More Time, With Feeling”

  1. chad April 17, 2004 at 12:42 pm #

    Just to check up on your New Year’s Resolution, how many projects are you working on now? 😉

  2. Nicole April 19, 2004 at 3:47 pm #

    Actively? One. In some state of progress? About four. That I have all the supplies for? You don’t want to know.

Comments are closed.

