Well, You Know It Don’t Come Easy

9 Jul

In the words of Ringo Starr…

About two weeks ago, what I feared might happen with my training happened. My knees started hurting when I ran. It happened on the first Wednesday workout I made it to: run intervals, sprinting up a hill, recovering as we came around the back, then 10 squats and 10 pushups. I did pretty darn well on the sprints (thank you, Mr. Kiessling! My H.S. track experience is finally coming in handy), but on the cool-down jog after, my left knee got so stiff and tender. I iced it when I got home, which makes it so much better. I’ve had to do that after every run so far (including our first BRick last week: bike intervals for 35 mins, run intervals 35 mins–by the way, I did pretty darn good on that one, too. I’m so psyched that I’m not as bad at this as I feared I’d be).

But then again, one reason I wanted to do this now is that I’ll probably need to get my knees replaced (like my mom) at some point in the future. I might as well do something like this while I can. Maybe I just need sport orthodics (And add another $140 to what this is costing me so far! Yikes! This is an expensive sport).

