Biking Without the Bonk

12 Jul

I’ve been slacking off this week with my trainings, I admit. Saturday morning, I was just so tired. It’s been so long since I’ve been able to sleep in, so I skipped the captain’s run at Land’s End. I slept until 10:45 and stayed in my PJs until about 4 pm. It was great.

Maybe that approach paid off, because on Sunday, I swam about 3/4 mile in an hour (6 lap warm up, 12 minute time trial: either 23 or 25 laps, 3 100s, 3 50s, and a 50 to cool down), then got ready to do the same bike ride I bonked on last week. I ate a few bites of my PowerBar (yeah, the Harvest kind), hopped on my bike, and went out, pacing myself and trying to keep up with another woman who seemed to be going at a good pace. After a while, I realized I was drafting her, so I pulled ahead to let her draft behind me, but then we got into the hills. Up, up, up.

Coach April rode by, saying, “This would be a good time to practice standing up!” And boy, it’s so much harder to stand up on a moving bicycle on an actual road than it is in Spinning class. I got up for a few rotations, but mostly powered up the hill. Then down a bit, then up another, and up, and up, and up. Until I came to the crest of one hill and saw everyone waiting at the T-intersection where we were supposed to turn around. (Colleen, my mentor, was there with Gatorade and food. THANKS, COLLEEN!!!) That was it? I couldn’t believe I had so much trouble with that ride the first time.

I grabbed some Gatorade, caught my breath, and turned around. It felt awesome, just riding ahead and cruising down the hills almost all by myself. Some fast people caught up to me on the way and I trailed behind them for most of the ride back (thank heavens, because there are a lot of confusing turns there).

When I got back to the parking lot, I realized I had just done almost the first two parts of the triathlon. I felt like I could probably still run two miles. Very slowly, but I could do it. And maybe walk a third. That’s three miles to go. Not too bad for only halfway through training. HOORAY FOR ME!

I was going to try to get up early and do the 50-minute run I missed on Saturday, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

