I love biking!

27 Jul

I do! I just did an hour bike ride after not having touched my bike for about a week. Between getting ready to go to NAMM and then actually being at NAMM, my workouts definitely fell by the wayside. It felt so awesome riding again. I went up through the Presidio, just riding up and down hills, doing little loops for an hour, pretty much just trying to use up the time in my workout. I did one loop, first downhill, then uphill three times. Each time I got a little better, a little faster, a little more savvy about when to change gears. And I successfully stood up on my pedals–multiple times!

Unfortunately, I couldn’t quite figure out how to get back to the easy way back up, so I had to go up Arguello. That wasn’t so bad (although it’s a fairly grueling climb for someone of my biking ability), but it meant that I missed my favorite part about riding back out of the Presidio. Once we get towards the top of this one road, it evens out and I really start picking up speed. Coming around the last part, where Arguello turns off to the left, I feel like I’m racing. I push myself as hard as I can, come around the golf course, and end up at Arguello Gate, ready to head back down to home. I got some speed going, but cutting off that first bit made it much harder to get my momentum going.

I also ran twice on the treadmill in Nashville, going for pace. I ran 40 minutes the first day (plus a 5 min. cooldown) and 30 minutes the other day (again, with a 5 min. cooldown), averaging about a 10.5-min. mile pace! WOO HOO! Now if I can just translate that to actual road.

2 Responses to “I love biking!”

  1. Chad R West July 28, 2004 at 3:15 pm #

    Well this is good to know. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out if you are actually having fun out there! Maybe the key is not to go riding with me. 🙂

  2. Tiffany Silverman August 2, 2004 at 1:59 pm #

    Don’t worry. I don’t know how many times Ben has said those exact same words!!!! It’s uncanny. We just look serious… we’re really having fun, right? (Well, MOST of the time).

Comments are closed.

