3:22:03

11 Sep

I did it!

Chad and I took the day off yesterday and drove down to Monterey. After running a bunch of errands (me buying sunglasses and running into Tammi, from TNT, in Noe Valley Bicycles; Chad picking up a fancy zoom camera lens that he rented for the weekend from Adolf Gasser’s), we finally got on the road around 12:30, arriving in Pac Grove with just enough time to check in and for me to join the TNT swim in Monterey Bay.

Sure, I was warned about the kelp–many times, starting with the first TNT informational meeting I went to–but nothing can really prepare you for it. It’s like swimming through slimy ficus trees. It loops around your arms, then once you get free, it gets caught around your foot. I screamed when I first hit a big patch of kelp. It’s really weird. I felt like I was in an episode of X Files or something.

After the TNT pasta party (they ran out of sauce–how cruel), we went to Walgreens to pick up some water, Gatorade, aspirin, and some batteries for the motor drive for Chad’s camera. Stacey was there, and we found out we were in the same wave the next morning (8:45 am, with half the other TNT women). We went to bed around 10 to make sure we could get up bright and early.

The alarm (or rather, alarms–we didn’t trust just one) went off at 5:15, and I groggily got out of bed, got dressed, checked my bag for the tenth time, and headed to breakfast with Chad. We grabbed a $2 bagel and $2 coffee at the somewhat limited breakfast spread (maybe the high prices included a surcharge for getting people out of bed at such an ungodly hour). We scarfed down out breakfast, then I hopped on my bike, all my tri belongings on my back, and headed over to Lovers Point with some other TNT folks.

The sun hadn’t risen yet, but the sky was starting to get a bit lighter, and I could tell that it would be a foggy day–just the kind of weather I like for exercising. We set up our transition areas, got marked, and waited. And waited.

To be continued…

