Skirts, skirts, and more skirts

4 Nov

I finally had time to make the teal cotton skirt a few weekends ago (and finally hemmed it last week). While I was sewing up the sides, I realized that the cotton was pretty thin, so I thought I’d try to do a lining for it. With the help of my handy-dandy Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing (which someone at Discount Fabrics on Haight St. recommended to me, and I wish I knew who it was because I really need to thank her), I did it! And it was easy! The only problem I found was that the interfacing at the top looks strange hanging over the lining. I had an idea from my Boden skirt, though. They attached the lining to the hem of the interfacing, not the top of the skirt.

IMG_0038.JPG

So I didn’t sew this one recently, but it’s from the same pattern as the other two. I got the fabric at Kweejibo on Haight, which, sadly, no longer sells remnants. I attached a wide bias tape to the hem, but I didn’t really like it, so I decided to fringe the hem. I used an article from an old issue of Threads to figure out how to do it. Basically, I ironed on seam tape and sewed a zigzag stitch to prevent the fabric from fraying too far up, then pulled the threads by hand. Besides covering our entire living room floor with thread right before my parents came to town, I’m pretty pleased with the results!

IMG_0039.JPG

This pink tweedy skirt was a little more of a challenge. After trying to finish the seams on my pink and black skirt, I was a little hesitant about working with this kind of fabric, so I asked this super nice lady at Joann’s what to do. She recommended sewing up the edges of the pieces, right after I cut them out, with a zigzag stitch so I stop the edges from fraying and finish the seam in one step. Ta-da!

IMG_0037.JPG

I still need to hem the skirt, but I’m going to do a fringe hem. This time, though, I’m going to hem it normally, and then cut the hem so it has a double layer of fringe. I think that will look a bit better. Although I just realized that it means twice the work!

