Pants Workshop

7 Nov

I had the first class of my pants workshop today at Muse. I have to say, they have a genius setup. There are six folding tables (the long ones that you can probably buy at Office Depot for about $35), two plastic folding chairs for each table, three ironing boards with really nice irons, two loaner sewing machines, a boom box, and that’s about it. It must have been relatively inexpensive to set up, but at the same time, what more could you possibly need for a sewing classroom? If you had a sewing business during the day, it would be a perfect way to help pay the rent by using the space in evenings and on weekends for classes.

The pattern seems pretty straightforward so far. I should have gotten as far as starting to attach the zipper, but unfortunately, I sewed two wrong sides of one pant leg together and had to rip the whole thing out. I don’t know why, but I always do that in classes (and I swear, I don’t do it at home. Really, I don’t).

The teacher, Kelly, has already pointed out some easier/better ways to do some things: she uses large D-rings from a hardware store as pattern weights and she highlights all the important markings on a pattern so it’s easier to pay attention to the important stuff and ignore everything else. I also found out that the way I do darts is apparently the “professional” way, although she added that some people, when they get about a 1/4″ from the point, decrease the stitch size for the last few stitches parallel to the fold.

