Progress report

7 Nov

Well, my grand plans to work out 3x a week and add strength training and yoga to my post-tri routine have, well, failed miserably. But I am proud of myself that I’ve worked out at least 2x a week the past few weeks. Yesterday, it was so nice out. As I was running around doing my errands, all I could think was, “I can’t wait to get home and run.” Of course, by the time I did, it was 4 pm and the fog had rolled in. Still, I went, and since I had no time obligations, no training schedule to keep to, no reason to run except that I like to, I just went. I passed my usual turning back point these days (about 1.5 miles from my house) and kept going. I would have trouble breathing, then I’d get control of it again. I ran past the duck pond, past the bison, down to my peak training turning-back point, so I turned back (it took me 25 minutes to get there, not bad).

The way back wasn’t as smooth. I realized that the benefit of running tights isn’t necessarily to keep warm, but probably to keep your muscles warm. Subtle dfference, but an important one. I walked a few times on the way back, but hey, I did run over 5 miles. And still did it in about 50 minutes. Not too shabby.

