Dachshund skirt

13 Nov

I don’t know why, exactly, but I am on a roll with sewing lately. Maybe it’s because I actually have free time now that I’m not training anymore.

Next up, is my modern take on the poodle skirt. Inspired by my “split dog” slippers, I’m going to make an orange wool skirt with a brown wool felt dachshund wrapping around the side, the head in the front and the tail in the back. I think it’ll be cute! I may even get a chance to finally use my non-Bedazzler Bedazzler for the eyes, in a nod to the ’50s poodle skirts.

I’ve been really inspired lately by the clothes from Boden and Anthropologie. They’re so fun. I like companies that keep some whimsy in their designs. I think that’s what has drawn me to the Rowan sewing patterns. (I want a Rowan subscription for Christmas.)

