Support Big Blue!

22 Dec

No, not IBM. Finish up your Christmas shopping by giving your hard-earned money to companies whose political donations go to Democrats and progressive causes. Try these websites for a start:

www.buyblue.org
www.choosetheblue.com

I must say, I’m disappointed to find that just a few weeks after my discovery of the cool products at K-Mart (thanks to the really impressive Martha Stewart Everyday collection), I won’t be shopping there anymore. And I do find it interesting that Guess, whose advertising tends a little too far towards the Lolita look for me (seemingly underage, scantily dressed women posing suggestively with grey-haired males), gives 83% of its political contributions to Republicans. How’s that for moral values?

And, notice that Urban Outfitters, who caused a pre-election stir with its “Voting Is for Old People” t-shirt, gives 63% of its political contributions to Republicans. Now I get it… No more shopping at Anthropologie for me.

[Thanks to SFGate.com columnist Mark Morford for bringing my attention to these. Read his column on the subject here: http://www.sfgate.com/columnists/morford/]

Leave a comment