Baby boom

20 Feb

Last year, all my friends got married. This year, they’re all having babies. I knitted pairs of baby Ugg booties for William and Lauren’s baby Juliet and Prentice and Jeff’s soon-to-be-born baby Owen. (They were a hit at Prentice and Jeff’s baby shower!) But since one of my unrealized New Year’s Resolutions for 2004 was to knit a sweater, I thought I’d try to knit a baby cardigan from Vogue Knitting’s Baby Gifts book for Owen. If it works, Simone’s twin girls and Tiffany and Ben’s child (they don’t want to know the gender until he or she is born) might be getting some cardigans. Especially since I bought too much yarn.

I’m knitting it in Cascade Yarns Cherub Collection Aran, in a bright blue (#22), that I picked up at Dharma. It’s super soft and machine washable (which the Ugg booties are not–oops!). I started on it a while ago, but I made some serious progress Friday at lunch and this morning while watching The Talented Mr. Ripley.

bluebabysweater.JPG

It’s all knit in one piece, which is great for me since I need some help with my seaming. You can see the sleeve a bit better here.

bluebabysweaterarm.JPG

It’s going pretty quickly, and although I had a bit of trouble casting on the extra stitches for the sleeves, it seems like it’s turning out OK. I hope once I seam up the arms and sides, the couple of boo-boos I’ve made will be nice and hidden from sight.

