It IS My Bag, Baby

23 Mar

handbag1.JPG

handbag2.JPG

As I was home Monday, waiting for the baby sweater to finish blocking, I decided to start up an old project. I got this great pink and black material at Kweejibo on Haight, back when they were selling fabric remnants. I made a skirt out of it and wanted to make a jacket, but I didn’t have enough left over and they didn’t have any more when I went back. (The picture on the left shows the real color.)

So a few months ago, I decided to make a bag, using Vogue 7328. I pinned the pattern to the fabric and cut out the interfacing a few months ago, but I haven’t had time to pull out my sewing machine since.

So far, it’s been pretty easy to sew, and the fabric isn’t fraying as much as it did on my skirt. I messed up the zipper a bit, but by then, I just wanted to see what the finished product looked like, so I left it. I just have to finish the strap and sew the lining and I’m done!

I think it would be cool to widen the handbag and make it a knitting needle and project holder!

