Turkeys are done, I’m finished

7 Apr

(Whenever we said we were “done” a test in middle school, one of my teachers–I forget who–would say, “Turkeys are done. You’re finished.”)

Since I have to wait for my 12″ circulars to arrive from The Yarn Exchange before I can get started on my legwarmers from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts, I thought I’d spend last night finishing up some old projects. I had been hoping to get help from the folks at Dharma with seaming first, but I just used my books and tried it myself. And look, not too shabby.

A sweater for Owen in about six months.
babysweaterdone2.JPG
My first sweater! It looks pretty homemade, but maybe he can wear it when he’s playing.

And a hat for Chad.
chadhat.JPG

I ripped out Freda and put the yarn away for now. Although it’s a beautiful pattern and I love the Rowan Cork yarn, I need some easy projects to work on.

Since I had so much of the blue yarn left over from the sweater, I started knitting up one of the baby hats from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts tonight. It’s going pretty quickly, but it should tide me over until my needles come. Then the legwarmers, then the Hourglass sweater. I’m thinking maybe Rowan Kid Classic for that one. Then back to baby gifts. With Simone’s twins, Tiffany’s baby due this summer, and Paul K’s baby due in the fall, I’ll be knitting all year!

One Response to “Turkeys are done, I’m finished”

  1. Owen April 13, 2005 at 5:02 pm #

    Gee, that sweater look awfully small. It’ve noticed that name is getting popular more and more…

Comments are closed.

