Hats Off

17 Apr

I finished the hat for baby Owen. I used the Children’s Cotton Hats pattern from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts, by Joelle Hoverson, and some of the rest of the royal blue Cascade Cherub Collection Aran left over from the sweater.

bluehat.JPG

babyhatandsweater.JPG

It was a really easy pattern, and true to it’s time designation in the book (two- to four-hour gifts), I finished it in basically two lunch hours, plus some more time for the I-cord. The I-cord did give me a little bit of trouble, but it was my first one.

Now I just have to send them off to the proud new parents!

So far, I have to say, I love this book. I’m almost done the first of the Super-Easy Leg Warmers. I think I’m going to make them either 22″ or 24″ long instead of 26″, which is what the pattern says. I’m not tall enough for 26″ leg warmers. I almost can’t wait until the cold weather comes back!

