Starting to Take Shape

5 Jun

Hourglass2.JPG

I’ve been knitting like mad on my Hourglass sweater–when I have the time, that is, which is never since we’re in production on the new issue at work and my managing editor and production person suddenly needed time off right in the middle of production. Ack! OK, work rant over.

I did some knitting on the drive up to and then in Mendocino last weekend and made some more progress yesterday, while riding around on the bus in between my hair cut, visit to ImagiKnit’s sale, and back home. I’m almost at the point where I need to start dividing for the yoke. Hooray!

I’m not sure if the 16″ circs I have for the arms will be small enough, so I cast on and am going to knit a few rows to see how it goes. I do think the 12″ would be better, but how many more knitting needles do I need to buy before I’m done? (No, I don’t want an answer to that question.)

That reminds me of Jen F’s brilliant idea of having a (knitting) needle exchange. I love that idea. I think I’m going to limit my future knitting needle purchases to circs or thrift store straights.

