Home Dec

10 Oct

So I’ve been looking for a new place to live, which is one reason why I haven’t been posting much, and every place I look at (and don’t get, but that’s another story) feels like a blank canvas. Maybe it’s just that I’ve been looking at Domino, the home decorating magazine from the folks who put out my new favorite fashion magazine, Lucky.

As an aside, what I like about both these magazines is that they take the trends, the terms, the expensive things and distill them down to a truly accessible level. Maybe I don’t want to work for MSL. Maybe my dream job is at Domino or Lucky.

Anyway, since my budget is small, I won’t be able to afford too much furniture, so I’ve been scoping out the thrift stores in San Rafael. I passed up this amazing 40s-style (but probably actually 70s) bamboo chair with ugly, but recoverable, cushions. I couldn’t think of what to do with it–barkcloth for the 40s vibe, maybe. Then it occurred to me–cover the seats in some robin’s egg blue fabric and use a fern to stencil on a Lotta Jansdotter/West Elm-style pattern on the cushions. And I could do the same thing on linen curtains–only the linen would be really gauzy and thin and so the fern print would just show through a bit. Genius! So I went back today, and of course, the chair was gone. C’est la vie. It would have been $25, too.

Another thrift store is having a 50% off sale, and I think I might buy two side tables there because they will be cheap and because I could probably always sell them later for what I paid for them.

Other projects I’m thinking of trying include knitting a rag rug or sewing a rug like the denim one in MSL (only not of denim), more floor cushions, and who knows what else. I’ve been thinking about reupholstering a couch myself, but that’s crazy talk, really. I need to find a place first.

