What to Cook for Dinner: Nicole’s Favorites

4 Jan

My friend Alix and I were just chatting over IM about our favorite recipes, so I thought it might make a fun list. The faves are things that I’ve been cooking recently.

BTW, it affirms my assertion that the October issues of Martha Stewart Living have always been the best. Best recipes, best crafts, best covers (until Michael Boodro became editor and, really, just ruined the magazine for me).

My winter faves (all Martha):

My recent faves (my kitchen has been almost all Bittman, all the time):

  • Roast Chicken with Roasted New Potatoes (How to Cook Everything, p. 359)
  • Spicy Tofu with Ground Pork (HTCE, p. 526)
  • Baked Ziti with Radicchio and Gorgonzola (HTCE, p. 143)
  • Broccoli Raab with Sausage and Grapes (HTCE, p. 545)

On my to-cook list:

  • Gwynnie’s Caramelized Black-Pepper Chicken (GOOP)
  • Also, her Buckwheat Banana Pancakes (GOOP)
  • Our friend V’s veggie saute: red onion, mushrooms (any kind but flavorful is better), basil, zuch, red peppers, tomato. Drizzle with balsamic, let it sit together and stew. Serve over a mild white fish or polenta.
  • Smitten Kitchen’s Chocolate-Toffee Cookies
  • Moosewood Cookbook’s Lemon-Anise Biscotti (this and the guacamole recipe are the only two things I make out of this cookbook anymore).
  • Bittman’s chicken stock (still choosing which one)

[[Update 1/12/09]]

How could I forget my favorite chili recipe? Sooooo good.

One Response to “What to Cook for Dinner: Nicole’s Favorites”

  1. Gillian January 6, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    The Chocolate Toffee cookies will change your life.

    I’m just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

