No DIY Orla Kiely, but I did make curtains

13 Jan

Storage shelf curtainsMy apartment has no storage space. There’s one tiny closet with a shelf I can barely reach, and that’s it. And I have a lot of stuff. So not long after I moved in, I bought some shelves from IKEA and tucked them in a little alcove in my dining area. Only, no one really wants to eat dinner with rolls of paper towels, boxes of my band’s CDs, and camping equipment right behind their heads.

So I bought some great fabric on sale at Repro Depot, and decided to make curtains to get my unsightly boxes, etc., out of sight.

I was hoping to have some extra fabric to make a handbag, but alas, the project used it all up. Who knew you really do need the fabric to be 1.5-2 times the width of the shelves?

One Response to “No DIY Orla Kiely, but I did make curtains”

  1. Ajay March 12, 2009 at 1:13 am #

    Hi,

    That looks great! I found yours while i was looking for pics where curtains are used to hide storage shelves. Will keep looking this space.

Leave a Reply

