Decorating around a Domino cover | Apartment Therapy Spring Cure 2010

14 Mar

There are a few elements I specifically want to steal from the Domino December 2006/January 2007 cover for my bedroom:

Anthropologie Rosette quilt

Soft textures, as in the velvet couch. I love my flokati rug, and I want to incorporate more softness into my room. I’ve been leaning toward this quilt, from Anthropologie. It’s made of jersey knit, and it just looks so wonderful to touch.Though I wish now I had bought the charcoal grey one when it was in stock. I had hoped to buy their purple cable-knit throw, but it sold out too quickly, so I bought the cream one.

Purple cable throw (sold out)

Metallic and silvery surfaces. I already have this a bit with my vintage mirror and silver picture frames. You can’t tell in the picture, but the color under the logo is a fabulous slightly metallic purple. I’m thinking of painting my dresser that color. (If anyone has any sources for metallic paint, let me know.)

Grey and purple color scheme. This will mostly be carried out in my bedding, because I rent and can’t paint the walls. I think I’m going to go for a light grey and dark purple, mostly because I’d get the light-grey quilt. Though I’m not entirely sure about that. The more I think about it, the more I lean toward light grey as the dominant color and light purple as the second color.

Theo Williams Jet alarm clock

Red and gold accents. I need a new clock, and I’ve been minorly obsessed with the Theo Williams jet clock. If only it came in an alarm clock/clock radio, it would be perfect! I’m thinking of painting my bed frame red, to get the red in. But I’m not sure how that would look with the grey/purple bedding. I’m actually not sure what to do with my bedframe. I don’t love it, but I can’t afford a new one right now. Maybe I should make a red velvet flower for the red accent? Or get red lampshades? It might look good to get a solid red for the floor lamp and patterned red (like the graphic grape-like print on the black-and-white wrapping paper) for the dresser lamp.

The ribbon holding the wreath. I’m going to try to find a wide, metallic pale purple ribbon to hold up my mirror. That’s an easy peasy fix.

Leave a Reply

