Better flow in the living room

4 Apr

My entire apartment, courtesy of Floorplanner.com.

One recommendation in Apartment Therapy is to find a floor planner tool and use it to come up with a new layout for a room that’s bothering you. I kept putting this off, but yesterday, I thought that there’s got to be an online floor planner tool somewhere.

And there is! I mapped out my entire apartment on Floorplanner.com.

Even though I’ve been trying to focus on my bedroom for this Spring Cure, I keep coming back to my living room. It’s got terrible flow.

I love that my desk is in the corner with two windows, but I hate how my couch feels so far back. When I put it there, I thought that it would be a good place to sit and look outside, but it’s not terribly inviting. I end up spending a lot of time at my desk and not much time on my couch or in my side chair. Also, when people come over, they don’t feel beckoned toward the couch, since it’s wedged back there. It’s not inviting.

So I played around with some other designs. Since I’m going to have to move all my furniture out of my living room to have my carpet replaced soon, I might as well reorganize everything, right?

Here’s what I came up with:

This, to me, feels more like a living room with a desk in it rather than the current home office + seating area vibe. I keep my current landing strip, which is handy. The couch will actually gets some sunlight, which will be really, really nice. My desk chair won’t be right in the doorway, and I have three seating positions, if you turn my desk chair around.

I think I love it. I can’t wait until they replace the carpet!

Also, I discovered my apartment is roughly 418 square feet! Not too shabby!

One Response to “Better flow in the living room”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My new living room | Apartment Therapy Spring Cure 2010 « Seamripper - April 6, 2010

    […] About Seamripper Better flow in the living room […]

Leave a Reply

