My new living room | Apartment Therapy Spring Cure 2010

6 Apr

As I’ve been working on this Home Cure, I have felt this pull toward my living room. I couldn’t quite figure out what was wrong with it. But the more I read about flow and thought about the energy in my house (yeah, I know I sound like a hippie), the more I realized that the living room was the problem. Once I discovered Floorplanner.com, I came up with a solution! I just had to wait until the carpet people came to replace my carpet (and I could replace my awesome rug) to make it happen.

Well, I couldn’t wait. In a burst of energy, I rearranged my living room. I forgot to take before photos, but here are the afters.

My couch is now along the long wall, near the windows.

The desk, instead of being the first thing you see, is tucked in the back.

One of the big problems in this room was that I was spending A LOT of time on my computer. I hate being on the computer when I come home. I would rather be sitting on my couch reading or playing my instruments. So I intentionally took my computer out of the nice spot by the window, where I could work and look outside at our nice garden, and stuck it in a corner with zero view. Instead, my couch is in the sunnier spot, making it a nicer place to sit.

My new reading nook!

Even before I moved the furniture around, I knew I’d have to get a lamp for this corner. When I moved my tomato chair to that corner, I realized it would be a great place to curl up and read the paper or a book, but I’d need a lamp. I had this one in my bedroom, but it never really worked in there. And now that I’m changing my bedroom colors, the orangey lampshade didn’t work there, but it looks pretty good in the living room.

Back around to the couch, landing strip, and the sunny windows

My landing strip, just inside the door, uses a teacup to hold my keys (and batteries I need to recycle). It’s also been a great plant stand for that plant in the purple pot (I don’t know what kind it is, but I’ve had it for about 5 years or more).

The thing that really amazes me about the changes are that, even though my apartment does not get much light at all, the room feels so much brighter and happier. I can’t wait til I can get my awesome rug back down on the floor. I love that rug. That, and a few small tweaks, will make this the living room of my dreams!

Though, now I wonder if I should get curtains… Hmmm…

2 Responses to “My new living room | Apartment Therapy Spring Cure 2010”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tackling the shopping list | Apartment Therapy Spring Cure 2010 « Seamripper - April 10, 2010

    […] am both ahead and behind in my Spring Cure this year. I made great progress in my kitchen and reorganizing my living room (yay!). After an initial surge of activity, my bedroom, the room I wanted to focus on the most, has […]

  2. The finished living room | Apartment Therapy Home Cure « Seamripper - May 17, 2010

    […] big change in this room was rearranging it to be a much more conversation- and entertaining-friendly space. I did this in the beginning of April, but I couldn’t put down my rug (the rug guy told me it […]

Leave a Reply

