Cocktails and nightstands

27 Aug

There are several items still on my “To buy-home” shopping list: a Le Creuset cast-iron skillet, a side table for my couch (this is currently the top contender), etc. But one thing I have really wanted are champagne coupe glasses so I can serve my Sazeracs and gimlets just like all the cool cocktail bars do. Also, just like Betty Draper held when Don took her to the Savoy for Valentine’s Day.

Would Don and Betty look this stylish if she was drinking out of a flute or martini glass? No. Of course not.

If you, too, are moderately obsessed with champagne coupe glasses, here is the best online source I’ve been able to find, provided, of course, that you want 36 or more of them.

So chic, so cheap!

I wandered into Community Thrift Store on Valencia yesterday and hit champagne coupe paydirt. I found a pretty big variety of styles, including set of 6 or so coupes with fancy stems. I briefly considered buying 12, but decided that my current financial state called for restraint. I chose ones that look like Libbeys: 3 in the 4.5 oz. size and 3 in the 5.5 oz. size–all priced between 50 cents and $1.50.

Kind of boring, but it was also only $10 at a yard sale.

And a week or so ago, as I was walking home from the SFStreet Food Festival, I picked up a little nightstand. I didn’t love it, but I liked it, and as I was about to walk away, one of the sellers said, “Luis! How much do you want for this nightstand?” “$10!” Luis called back. “I was going to ask more, but I don’t want to bring it upstairs.” Sold. I think I’m going to strip it, stain it in a dark grey to actually bring in some of the dominant color from my bedroom-redesign inspiration, and swap out the handle with something like this (in red) or this.

One Response to “Cocktails and nightstands”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Well, that was fast « My Laid-Off Life - September 23, 2010

    […] Ended my more than year-long search for affordable champagne coupe glasses […]

Leave a Reply

