Summer squash and herbs in parchment | Recipe of the week

31 Aug

Summer squash and herbs in parchment. The dish that finally sold me on summer squash.

A couple of weeks ago, my sweet boyfriend gave me some homegrown squash (along with some other veggies). I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I don’t like summer squash. But then I chose to reframe it as an opportunity to change–or, at least, revisit–my opinion.

On my way to the grocery store, I checked my “How to Cook Everything” app for a good squash recipe and found the summer squash and herbs in parchment (also in HTCEV). With its few ingredients, simple preparation, and promise of tastiness, it looked like a perfect unemployed-girl recipe!

And it was. After roasting a chicken last night, I popped these squash, onion, and herb-filled parchment packets into the oven, and 20 minutes later, had a sweet, flavorful side dish by the time I carved my chicken. I’m sold.

Note: The basil I bought for this recipe had already gone bad, so I used rosemary and fennel (to get the licorice flavor of the tarragon that Bittman’s recipe suggested). I LOVED the fennel. It really contributed to the summery sweetness of the dish.

Summer squash and herbs in parchment, HTCEV, p. 362.

Leave a Reply

