Operation clearinghouse: Get rid of the old (or, let’s be honest, trash), make room for the new

3 Feb

As we go through this house redecoration process, I’m vaguely following Apartment Therapy’s Home Cure. I went through this twice in my single-girl apartment in San Francisco. For a home dec newb like myself (especially at the time), it was immensely helpful in just providing a way through. I find it’s so easy for me to get lost in endless to-do lists around projects that I don’t accomplish much and I feel needlessly anxious.

Dave's Ikea Granas chairs

These chairs, from Dave’s single-guy apartment, are now on Craigslist.

One of the most helpful ideas in the Home Cure is the outbox: a place where you stick all the stuff that you either want to get rid of or are considering getting rid of. When I lived in SF, there was a Goodwill dropbox directly across from my apartment, so I’d add things to my outbox and on Sundays, I’d log it in ItsDeductible.com and lug it across the street.

Together, Dave and I are not so organized. Dave once had recycling in the back of his truck for something like 4 months, and it took me two months to take all the leftover wedding stuff (vases, etc.) to a Goodwill drop-off that was maybe 2 or 3 miles from our house.

But we have a lot of crap to get rid of. And damn it, this week I am determined to get rid of it.

  • Remove all the cardboard. As we’ve been filling up the house, buying stuff for the nursery, and just ordering everyday things, we’ve been collecting a lot of boxes. I was determined to get rid of them all before New Year’s. On Sunday night, I finally did. Our dog, Dean, did escape through the open gate while I was doing that, but after a brief moment of panic and Dave tracking him down when he saw Dean run across the street to say hi to (read: jump up on) a neighbor, he was safely returned to our house. And the cardboard is ready to be picked up.
  • My single-girl apartment Ikea Ivar chairs

    My single-girl apartment Ikea Ivar chairs

    Sell stuff on Craigslist. We have 12 extra kitchen chairs. Yes, 12 extra. Two from my single-girl apartment, four from Dave’s apartment, and six 100-year-old chairs we bought for $200 ($200! for 6 chairs! what a deal!) because we were sick of the mismatched set. I then got sick of the fact that two of the chairs fell apart when you picked them up, and, as the primary light-bulb-changer in the house, I didn’t feel comfortable standing on them. So we found six more today (for $225! what a deal!) at the Alameda Antiques fair. All are now for sale on Craigslist.

  • The 100-year-old chairs

    An improvement on the mismatched set largely because these match. But these, too, are now on Craigslist

    Donate stuff to Goodwill. We didn’t register for too many kitchen things because we each came into the marriage with full kitchen set-ups. But there were some things we wanted to upgrade: the mismatched glasses (with no good option for double old-fashioned glasses), the good pots with no lids, the mediocre pots with lids, the coffee maker that made only enough bitter coffee for us each to have one mug, the wine rack neither of us liked, etc. All that is getting entered in ItsDeductible on Tuesday and getting donated. And between getting rid of the cardboard and this, we will suddenly have a clear-ish walkway in our garage. AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

