Kale salad with butternut squash and almonds | Recipe of the week

8 Feb

I realized this week that’s it’s February and I haven’t been taking enough advantage of some of the two best things about winter: winter greens and winter squashes. I found this recipe for a salad with butternut squash, cranberry beans, and broccoli raab (a veggie I discovered through Happy Boy Farms at the Noe Valley Farmers Market — and LOVED). Unfortunately, after going to two different supermarkets, I couldn’t find either cranberry beans or broccoli raab, and I had already bought squash and kale (as a backup to the raab). So, plan B: Google search for “butternut squash kale salad.”

Kale, butternut squash, and almond salad

I turned up this tasty-looking recipe for kale salad with butternut squash and almonds, from Bon Appetit, and last night, Dave and I made it with some thick-cut, bone-in pork chops and homemade improvised apple sauce (Dave intended for them to be cooked apples, but then he decided to mush them up).

The recipe was really easy and really, really tasty. By far, the most labor-intensive part was cubing the squash, which is something that I’ve never learned how to do efficiently. Google, again, to the rescue. I followed Simplyrecipes’ great instructions on how to peel and cut a butternut squash, and got semi-uniform (I’m still working on my knife skills) cubes to roast. This recipe would probably also be good with yams or sweet potatoes, if you’re in more of a hurry and don’t want to hassle with the squash (there’s always the TJ’s pre-cut squash, too).

Kale and butternut squash salad with pork chop and homemade applesauce

Additional resources:

Leave a Reply

