Braised and glazed Brussels sprouts | Recipe of the week

28 Jan

I’m so glad I rediscovered Bittman’s braised and glazed Brussels sprouts recipe (I forget if it’s in How to Cook Everything or in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, but it’s on the app). Just made it tonight, and I swear I could eat the whole batch. And, not only is it a three-ingredient recipe, but two ingredients are the most staple of pantry staples: water and butter or oil.

Here’s the down-and-dirty version of the recipe:

1. Combine 1 lb. trimmed Brussels sprouts, 3 TBSP unsalted butter or olive oil, and 12 cup water, stock, or white wine* in a deep skillet. Cover tightly. Boil on medium until Brussels sprouts are coked and nice and green.

2. Remove cover and turn up heat to boil off the liquid. Keep cooking so that the Brussels sprouts brown. RESIST THE URGE TO STIR. Let them brown. Have faith in the process. After about 10 minutes, shake the pan to brown the other sides. A little while later, do that again. It’s OK if they’re unevenly browned.

I made them before I put the Bug to bed and just covered them in the pan, and they were buttery and delicious when I ate them a half hour or so later.

* I used salted butter, 1/4 cup water, and 1/4 cup white wine.

One Response to “Braised and glazed Brussels sprouts | Recipe of the week”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My new approach to cooking: Filling in the holes | Seamripper - March 15, 2015

    […] Braised and glazed Brussels sprouts […]

Leave a Reply

